Strip 677 - "Going before the undead dragon in the Initiative Order"

9th Aug 2018, 12:00 AM in Cave of No Return
first Latest
Average Rating: 5 (1 votes)

first Latest

Permalinks:

Comments:

(You have to be registered at ComicFury to leave a comment!)
Zilfallion 9th Aug 2018, 2:20 AM edit delete reply
Zilfallion
You know, the only thing I can think of to bring up here is.

Has the caster here acted in the initiative order so far? This seems to be first-round combat, which means those who haven't acted yet at flat-footed. And flat-footed characters can't take immediate actions, such as casting that sphere. Unless we missed a surprise round where he acted or something, but Init was only rolled a like 3-4 pages ago and he hasn't done any actions since then besides cast this reactionary spell. Though he could have had his turn and delayed it or readied this as a response to being attacked.

Just a small thing. Taking advantage of flat-footed first round is how I got to nearly instant-kill a mini-boss one campaign by using surprise round to get close, and the first round with REALLY good initiative bonuses to get a NASTY full-round attack off for like 200+ something damage. Sometimes I wonder if my GM regrets allowing some things on that character, but the campaign was a fantastic journey of discovery for that character, super enjoyable game.
apocolypse101 9th Aug 2018, 12:19 PM edit delete reply


That's a good point, since they haven't acted yet as far as I can tell.
Halosty45 9th Aug 2018, 12:20 PM edit delete reply
Halosty45
I'd agree that by the rules he'd probably be flat-footed- but he kinda *did* start the battle by showing up on a dragon. That could be counted as a surprise round... but it could also count as "nobody's really surprised here" and nobody is flat-footed. That's not a thing that actually appears in the rules, but sometimes combat starts before combat starts, you know?
Zilfallion 9th Aug 2018, 5:42 PM edit delete reply
Zilfallion
Yeah, that's always one of the weird things in the rules. My GM often kind of does that sort of thing when there's a bit of... not negotiations, but sort of groups squaring off against each other. We usually don't treat people as flat-footed then.

Especially since you may have acted and done something just before initiative was called for or something, it doesn't make as much sense to make them suddenly flat-footed. It was just something that I was mentally debating about here because of the Initiative Order title.
(You have to be registered at ComicFury to leave a comment!)